EDITION_DART_FMA_16X9.jpg

REQUIREMENT AND ORIGINALITY
ANCESTRAL AND RARE KNOW-HOW

Since 2008, Françoise Maréchal-Alligand, founder of Editions d'art FMA, has contributed to renewing contemporary bibliophiles by combining unpublished poems by living authors and original iconographies by contemporary artists, while emphasizing the know-how of book artisans.

In a spirit of high standards and friendliness, Françoise M-Alligand meets and calls on authors and artists to initiate an artist's book project. The editor immerses herself in the author's unpublished poem (prose, verse, etc.), chooses the character and creates the layout of the text in DTP. Most often in-text, it obtains a harmonious dialogue, an osmosis between text / images. The structure and format of the book favor its handling for an intimate relationship with the lover of fine books.

From the very first books, the FMA art editions have favored the ancestral know-how of the National Printing Office and the craftsmen of the book for the composition of the texts, the printing on typographic press and the shaping. The printing technique on letterpress allows an imprint in relief of the character and reveals a singular imprint between the letter, the inking and the art paper.

Thick art paper (Velin BFK Rives or Moulin du Gué), often used on the front only, offers artists a support that is conducive to accommodating all kinds of techniques.

The original edition is printed in few copies, between 30 and 45 copies, sometimes less.

Once the book has been edited, Françoise M-Alligand delivers it to the artists for their intervention on each copy. Art works are generously distributed throughout the book.

 

UNIQUE, THEY MAKE EACH BOOK AN ORIGINAL WORK OF ART

 

Each artist's book is numbered and signed with the colophon by the author and the artist.

All books are presented in a box or case. The casings are made according to a model designed by FMA.

 

THESE EDITORIAL BIASES WERE POSTED FROM THE FIRST EDITIONS AND REMAIN THE TRADEMARK OF FMA ART EDITIONS

 

Little known to the general public and wishing to democratize this still “confidential” medium, Françoise M-Alligand is developing “reading by the author and leafing through the book” videos available on editionsdartfma.com and on the YouTube channel to provide access to as many people as possible. these rare and precious works.

BACK STAGE

Good to draw from the artist's book The unpredictable, friend, the unforeseeable at the Montquartiers art workshop in Issy-les-Moulineaux. Unpublished poem by Alain Freixe. Spring 2021.

EXIGENCE ET ORIGINALITE

SAVOIR-FAIRE ANCESTRAL ET RARETE 

EXIGENCE ET ORIGINALITE

SAVOIR-FAIRE ANCESTRAL ET RARETE 


Depuis 2008, Françoise Maréchal-Alligand, fondatrice des éditions d’art FMA, contribue à renouveler la bibliophilie contemporaine en alliant poèmes inédits d’auteurs vivants et iconographies originales d’artistes contemporains, tout en privilégiant le savoir-faire des artisans du livre. 

Dans un esprit d’exigence et de convivialité, Françoise M-Alligand rencontre et sollicite les auteurs et artistes pour initier un projet de livre d’artiste.  L’éditrice s’imprègne du poème inédit (prose, vers...) de l’auteur, choisit le caractère et réalise la mise en page du texte en PAO. Le plus souvent in-texte, elle obtient un dialogue harmonieux, une osmose entre texte/images. La structure et le format du livre favorisent sa maniabilité pour une relation intime avec l’amateur de beaux livres.

Dès les premiers livres, les éditions d’art FMA ont privilégié le savoir-faire ancestral de l’Imprimerie nationale et les artisans du livre pour la composition des textes, le tirage sur presse typographique et le façonnage. La technique d’impression sur presse typographique permet une empreinte en relief du caractère et révèle une empreinte singulière entre la lettre, l’encrage et le papier d’art.

Le papier d’art (Velin BFK Rives ou Moulin du Gué) à fort grammage, souvent utilisé en recto seul, offre aux artistes un support propice à accueillir toutes sortes de techniques.

L’édition originale est tirée à peu d’exemplaires, entre 30 et 45 exemplaires, parfois moins. 

L’édition du livre réalisée, Françoise M-Alligand la livre aux artistes pour leur intervention sur chaque exemplaire. Les œuvres plastiques sont généreusement réparties sur l’ensemble du livre.


UNIQUES, ELLES FONT DE CHAQUE LIVRE UNE OEUVRE D’ART ORIGINALE


Chaque livre d’artiste est numéroté et signé au colophon par l’auteur et l’artiste. 

Tous les livres sont présentés dans un coffret ou étui. Les emboîtages sont réalisés selon un modèle dessiné par FMA.


CES PARTI-PRIS EDITORIAUX ONT ETE POSES DES LES PREMIERES EDITIONS ET RESTENT LA MARQUE DE FABRIQUE DES EDITIONS D’ART FMA


Peu connu du grand public et souhaitant démocratiser ce medium encore «confidentiel», Françoise M-Alligand développe des vidéos «lecture par l’auteur et feuilletage du livre» disponibles sur editionsdartfma.com et sur la chaîne YouTube pour donner accès au plus grand nombre ces ouvrages rares et précieux.

 
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter

©2018 by Editions d'art FMA. Proudly created with Wix.com